Good to be Back at KW|AG

We welcomed Becky back after a year’s maternity leave and asked her to talk about what it was like stepping backing into her demanding role as Visitor Services and Volunteer Coordinator. Here’s what Becky told us:

I have really enjoyed every moment at home with my little guy and, I would be lying if I said that returning to the gallery was without slightly mixed feelings. On top of that, my return to work coincided with the lead up to our Black & Gold Gala, one of the biggest events put on by the Gallery and a somewhat daunting prospect. On the upside, it was a great way to jump back into things because I had to hit the ground running. I was reminded of how stimulating adult conversation can be, and I really missed my coworkers and KW|AG volunteers while I was away. It was awesome being a little part of a big team working together to pull off such an impressive event. Working away on projects, for the sake of art, warms my heart. November flew by as we tied up our Black & Gold loose ends and moved ahead with new projects. And here we are already in December.
When I returned to the Gallery, it was hard to believe that a year had already passed. Now it’s hard to believe it’s already the end of 2013. This holiday season around the gallery is festive and bright. There are decorations up around the front desk and in our newly renovated Community Access Space, and you can feel the holiday spirit in the air. We are all reflecting on the good stuff that has been happening at the Gallery in 2013, and planning exciting new projects for 2014. Maybe it’s because I’m relishing the creativity the Gallery inspires, or maybe it’s because I have been out of the grown-up scene for too long – but to me, this time of year at KWAG makes me extra proud to be a part of such an amazing art gallery.

As I look forward to spending the holidays with my family and friends, I’d like to extend a great big “Happy Holidays” to you and yours. I hope you enjoy the beauty of the season and that you are able to include KW|AG in your plans. Here is to saying goodbye to 2013, reflecting on what an amazing year it has been and welcoming 2014 with open arms and open hearts.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

About The Kitchener Waterloo Art Gallery

The Kitchener-Waterloo Art Gallery exists in real space in Kitchener, Ontario. Featuring contemporary work, the Gallery provides opportunities to connect with art through public programs, classes and exhibitions. Admission is free.
This entry was posted in @KW|AG, Art, Community, Contemporary, Exhibitions, Gallery, Interviews, Kitchener, Things we like, Uncategorized, Waterloo Region. Bookmark the permalink.